Our House, Dining Room, Chapter 5…A Simple Cupboard Makes One of My Favorite Vignettes.

In “Our House” between the Dining room/Entry and wet bar, (which we refer to as ‘the coffee bar’ because that’s primarily what we use it for) leading to the kitchen, is this charming vignette. (If I do say so myself.)

I’ve mentioned before that it’s the juxtaposition in decorating that interests me, and this vignette is a prime example of that.

The particularly symmetrical placing of everything and beautiful oil painting, and even that gorgeous Lennox anniversary bowl in the cupboard my husband gave several years ago are all quite formal, yet those items in this grouping are juxtaposed, or contrasted with, the very old primitive cupboard as well as the almost comical ‘rooster’ theme.

When I got this cupboard at a garage sale, there was nothing in the door, I had an old screen from a window and cut the screen and tacked it in with some quarter-round scraps, so total cost including the cupboard was $5. (The previous owners didn’t even understand why I like this cupboard.) As you can see from the top, it is very primitive!

I repeatedly reinforced the symmetrical positioning, and you will notice, it’s symmetrical on the wall, not the floor due to the stairs from the coffee bar coming into part of that space on the right.

When we changed this space from a garage to a dining room in “Our House”, we had to create this bumped out wall in order to make room for utility lines and plumbing to come into the space. So with that unexpected element, we created an asset in the room by installing this ledge. I repeated the stone wallpaper as is in the seating area around the corner, and finished the ledge top to match some other ledges we have in other parts of the house so it connects with those.

Above the cupboard are this set of 4 rooster bowls my daughter gave me a few years ago, and this gorgeous silver leafed framed oil painting. The mouth watering grapes look so real you’d swear you could pluck them right off the canvas.

This shows the angle looking down from the coffee bar toward the French doors that lead to the living room, just to your left is the dining table, and around the left corner is the seating area in Chapter 1. (I’ll get the the table in a post eventually. Yes, this is a dining room with a table. :) It’s just that I have stockpiled plumbing and electrical supplies for “The Little Brick Cottage” in that corner and haven’t been able to get a good picture.)

Aren’t these bowls so charming? My daughter knew I’d love them, and she was right. I love too that I think of her and smile every time I look at them.

Enter your email address: Delivered by FeedBurner
Follow My Blog!Yay!! I’ve been featured at:
UndertheTableandDreaming

I’m linking up at:
Furniture Feature Fridaysgood one

http://www.iheartnaptime.net/sundae-scoop-link-party-16/Sunday's Best Linky Party!UndertheTableandDreaming mop it up mondays

Making

Sumo's Sweet Stuff

Photobucket


Today's Creative BlogTip Junkie handmade projects


Chatty Chicsshowandtellbutton
{Primp}

http://www.bluecricketdesign.net/

shabby creek cottageSomewhat SimpleA Crafty SoireePhotobucket

vif187http://www.fivedaysfiveways.com/

http://whipperberry.com/

http://www.remodelaholic.com/2012/02/love-your-home-printable-and-ra-109/

http://www.shabbynest.blogspot.com/Redoux

http://tatertotsandjello.com/2012/02/weekend-wrap-up-party-and-100-craft-pack-from-mindys-minute-market.html

It's Overflowing

http://funkyjunkinteriors.blogspot.com/2012/02/my-route-66-cupboard-and-link-up-to-be.htmlHookingupwithHoH

About DecorateWithaLittleBit.com

In my love of creating well functioning spaces that are beautiful to exist in, I've found there are always new possibilities for rooms. It doesn’t take a huge amount of money to make a fabulous place, but instead it's all about how to creatively decorate with a little bit to accomplish it.

Posted on February 3, 2012, in Dining Room, Furniture, Our House, Re-purposing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. This turned out AWESOME!!!! I love your rooster touches!!! Thanks so much for sharing at my party!!! Can’t wait to see what you link up this week!!! Just in case you haven’t entered, my giveaway for 1000 full color business cards ends tonight at midnight!!! Glad to be following you!! XO, Aimee

  2. Thank you for joining me at Home Sweet Home!
    Sherry

  3. So darling!! Thanks for sharing at Feathered Nest Friday!

  4. lovely vignette! I love these earth colors :)

  5. I LOVE this!!! My party just started…I would LOVE to have you stop by and share your projects!!! XO Aimee

  6. Love your vignette!! I’m your newest follower-stop by for a visit!!

  7. Beautiful rustic cabinet I love what it must bring to the room. The bowl is pretty.

    Cynthia
    clochesandlavender.wordpress.com

  8. Wow, that’s lovely. And the casual mixed with the formal is just right. Nicely done.

  9. A wonderful use of space and I love all the contrast of all the pieces. Thanks for sharing.
    Sandy

  10. So very clever. What an unusual and GREAT place for an original piece! Love it!

  11. Still loving this!! Thank you bunches for linking up with Mop It Up Mondays at ishouldbemoppingthefloor. So happy you could stop by!

    {HUGS},
    kristi

  12. The cupboard is gorgeous! I love the distressed, primitive look! Love the Rooster lamp as well!! Would love you to stop by Friday Frolic and link up! My readers would love this!!
    Have a great weekend:)

  13. I love, love, love this vignette! I’m drawn to the juxtapostion too. I’ve actually been very curious about this area of your home from other pictures. So, I’m glad you featured it. Thanks for sharing this and your other fabulous projects at Show & Tell!

    Sharon @ mrs. hines class

  14. Very pretty vignette, love the roos! Also really like the primitive cabinet with the formal of the other elements. I’m not one who leans toward symmetry. Looks so pretty. Thanks for sharing you creative inspiration at Sunday’s Best Par.tay!

  15. I love mixing primitives in with more formal items. Love what you did!
    Mary Alice

  16. Love this space. Such a gorgeous vignette. Love that lamp and the roos in the cupboard. Beautifully done. Hugs, Marty

  17. I absolutely, love the idea of your cupboard.

    So much ideas in here that I will bring back to Europe.

    TY for sharing.

    Greetings from a freezing Stockholm,
    /chie

  18. That cabinet is gorgeous!

  19. Love the look and the wonderful house. Am anxious to continue my walk through it. I just know I will be excited with every room. I will be back. I did not see a place o follow, so will follow you on facebook. Found you on FJI SNS
    Blessings.
    Audrey Z. @ Timeless Treasures.

    http://audreyzumwalt.blogspot.com/

  20. I love it. You’re so right…the rustic-ness of the cabinet with the formal-ness of its contents are a perfect match. So fun. Hope you can stop by Mop It Up Mondays again to link this beauty up!

    {HUGS},
    kristi

  21. Great area! Love how everything is so great together, while showing off both the formality and the comfort.

  22. beautiful bowl!

  1. Pingback: Dining Room Stepback Cupboard « decoratewithalittlebit

  2. Pingback: Sunday’s Best #17 Wrap Up! » My 1929 Charmer

Thank you for stopping by... Let me know what you think, I love to hear from you!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,404 other followers

